Day 9 of Quarantine- Almost To Complete Recovery

Today I woke up almost feeling like myself, as today I woke up with a sore chest. I am assuming that it’s from the coughing that occurred these last eight days. But the refreshing feeling that I got this morning was relief and comfort as I’ve made it to recovery without infecting anyone in the household. Where I will admit, there were some moments that when I was around others who showed signs of symptoms earlier on, I developed a slight hesitation about the effectiveness of the mask. Which being diagnosed with the mask and making it a good habit to wear a mask. The truth is that my experience has proven the effectiveness of proper mask-wearing. And as I was told by a Tweeter the other day that masks are an act of abuse, the truth is mask-wearing at this age is just a good habit that you must develop. Using an opinion article to rationalize this to be an evident fact becomes a paradox of misinformation that, in human nature is ends up being a defense mechanism to subdue to fear that we subconsciously have. And can you blame people? Who claims it’s similar to having the flu? It makes me wonder if they genuinely ever got COVID because it’s worst than catching the flu. The best way that I can describe it is feeling like you are being exorcised by being submerged in hot water: Pea soup and all.

Before the COVID infection

I still have respect for people’s views and just stopped giving a shit about people who refuse to wear a mask at this point. I mean, with the country divide, we have enough on both sides to keep their businesses mask or unmasked friendly. But the consequential part of this is that it takes us back to the dark day of suppression. Where instead of white folks only establishments, it takes us to a period where oppression was something more significant, instead is the passive-aggressive racism and discrimination we see hitting the politician stand and around our country that no one ever questions, which becomes oppressive not by human nature, but by personal beliefs that in human nature and the ego reaction of needing to be correct. No one can compromise a point but instead, fight to the end. To be right.

Day 4 of COVID QUARANTINE

The truth is I developed a mentality that if people need to learn the hard way, then let them. But for governors who force the unmask rule have to stop retaliating towards the precautions that people feel necessary because in the dramatically different walks of life. Not everyone has the equal advantage of being under the watchful eye of constant care, a benefit only available through money and power. Instead of leading with their personal feelings and beliefs, which they refuse in the act is right. The one dismissive characteristic that they neglect to keep is the act of empathy. Maybe it’s because of the power they hold, or perhaps they are genuinely just that naive and ignorant, which had me tweet directly to Governor Abbot saying if an employer can terminate someone through the act of retaliation. Why doesn’t this apply to governors and people with power? Taking protection as defiance ends up being that slippery slope that many Texans get fires for in an ethics-driven workforce—the act of retaliation.

Day 9 of COVID

I have one final follow-up today, which I feel that my doctor will have me test to see if I’m entirely over the virus. But we shall see what she says as they talk about the “booster” becoming available, regardless if I caught the Delta variant. I’m sure as hell getting the booster because the truth of the matter is that this virus is on constant mutation. Where anything that mutates that quickly is trying to become resistant to the environment it’s in, which will give me a fighting chance for the next fight. I’m 100% all for it. Because the truth is in this personal vendetta of people trying to be right about something that has the potential to rid the human race, I would rather be cautious and proactive, knowing that I did what I could to not only protect myself or others from going through the same suffering I went through. I’m no hero, so I’m not going to force people to believe what I believe. Because the more this pandemic is made a political debacle, it’s not a matter of “if you get it.” We come to a point where it’s “when you get it.” And considering my spiritual beliefs. When I meet my maker, I don’t want to be sent to an afterlife of suffering. All because I let my personal beliefs of getting in the way of hurting others. Because to me, it’s no longer a political battle. It’s a test to determine your fate in the afterlife.

Published by Frieda Lopez at Frieda the Writer

Frieda López is the writer for Journey of an Unraveled Road who was born and raised in San Antonio, TX. Through her professional career in Customer Relations and Retail Management, she has utilized her experience and interactions with the behavioral patterns, which was used to start her personal journey with Journey of A Unraveled Road as her debut novel. She has completed philosophy, psychology, and theology courses at San Antonio College as well as creative writing courses. Frieda López has been a lifelong writer since 2nd grade. A survivor of childhood trauma, childhood abuse, and domestic violence, she wrote this piece, which started this book as her personal journey; works from home in San Antonio, TX.

Leave a comment

Yoga Special

All you need to know about yoga