The Ignorance of Perception

So have you ever encountered a people who emphasize on the material assets they have or had accrued while others emphasize the accomplishments through adversity? Have you ever taken the time to sit down with then to ask why they are happy? And if so, did you tell yourself that they are lying to themselves or assume they were taking something to make them feel that way? Well the ugly truth is perception is a personal biased standard you have made which going through my journey revealed that these were not my immediate standards but the standards everyone measured me by that never would be met as each peer had that would cause unnecessary self conflict that once coming into the self realization of happiness. It made people intimidated. It forced people to attack people. It made people engage in self sabotage. And in the end made people face the person they have became, were becoming, or sadly the person they swore they would never be.

In my book, I talk about a moment I faced a breaking point in my life that would determine what would make a “normal” person give up on life, that due to a chronic disease and my the effects caused by being over worked, being tormented by a manager that desperately tried ways of processing me out, along with a workers Compensation injury that occurred due to the 18 hour 7 day a week day I pulled to secure my job after someone’s else’s deception who if she wasn’t intimidated would make it believe I was committing sales fraud which resulted to an investigation that proved no fraud was committed but coincidentally appeared under her watch which got good people fired because of the way she would attain these sales. The same thing she attempted to have my reps do when I started at Sprint as Store Manager when I first moved to Houston. Setting the boundary that no small business transaction could not be conducted without my approval of the documents and lines activated to avoid churn rates at my store, which I experienced at T-Mobile as the offense would be way different as rumors of more layoffs arose, would get a person fired for activating lines even paperwork was legal. Having my own process in place to avoid being wrongly accused. Because in sales, the only way you get promoted is by the volume of sales you make. And since in the end it was her direction to attain sales and numbers in an unethical way, which during a lunch meeting tried to sway me into doing this as this is the only way we can get goal, requested another store that would comply. The result of not taking accountability of her actions, convincing herself by telling others that the person who cannot stop her anymore, will continue to tell herself this lie; now creating a toxic work environment if she makes it to regional management. But the worst of all is through her manipulation and her motive, made many others to play a part in making it impossible for me to make goal and have other people turn heads to not get involved so they don’t become the target. In the normal simulation, people disappeared and life moved on. Unfortunately for them after given the day I was going to die due to a condition that went terminal, this bitch made the decision if I’m gonna die I’m gonna fuck shit up. Already starting a journey where I unknowingly began the process of resolving unresolved issues because I was done with doubting myself, began the journey of a road that was beginning to unravel. What was use to be intimidating turned into powerful without having any intention to do so. Which made me stop confirming into someone else’s perception of happy into my version. And with the adversity I faced and the months I was told I had, make it a point to shine light to those who lost their way and fight for anyone who couldn’t fight for themselves

Published by Frieda Lopez at Frieda the Writer

Frieda López is the writer for Journey of an Unraveled Road who was born and raised in San Antonio, TX. Through her professional career in Customer Relations and Retail Management, she has utilized her experience and interactions with the behavioral patterns, which was used to start her personal journey with Journey of A Unraveled Road as her debut novel. She has completed philosophy, psychology, and theology courses at San Antonio College as well as creative writing courses. Frieda López has been a lifelong writer since 2nd grade. A survivor of childhood trauma, childhood abuse, and domestic violence, she wrote this piece, which started this book as her personal journey; works from home in San Antonio, TX.

Leave a comment

Yoga Special

All you need to know about yoga